Fat Books & Thin Women


My Favorite Books of the Year
December 28, 2010, 10:48 pm
Filed under: meme | Tags: , , , ,
  1. Stephen King – Under the Dome: I go back and forth on Stephen King (sometimes I think he could use a good editor to cut his books down, though mostly I thought this while reading The Tommyknockers when everyone was losing their teeth) but, man, what a book. Will forever be linked with the feeling of laying a foot from my space heater, needing to change position because my left leg (or whatever) was too hot, but not wanting to stop reading for even the second that would take.
  2. Edith Wharton – The Age of Innocence: That I want to read more Edith Wharton in 2011 is totally due to this book. Read it in high school, thought it was boring, reread it this year, thought it was amazing. There’s this quiet tragedy to the end, when everything that kept Ellen Olenska and Newland Archer apart is dismissed by Newland’s children.
  3. Suzanne Collins – The Hunger Games: My thoughts after reading the first page could best be summed up as Holy crap! Holy crap! I love the feeling of finding a book I know I am going to love after the first page. This was my favorite of the trilogy. Review here.
  4. E.M. Forster – A Passage to India: Finally ended my long shame of not having read one of the best works by one of my favorite authors. Review here.
  5. Rory Stewart – The Places in Between: Rory Stewart writes about walking across Afghanistan in the winter of 2001-2002. Half insane, made me cry at the end.
  6. Louis de Bernieres – Corelli’s Mandolin: To say I had low expectations for this novel would be an understatement. I had kind of been trying to start it for years, but the faint memory of Nicholas Cage’s terrible Italian accent kept me from the book. So glad I finally read it. I am not a crier, but a distinguishing characteristic of many books on this list is that, yes, they made me cry.
  7. Aravind Adiga – The White Tiger: I’m happy I write about the books I read now, so that in future when I read a book like The White Tiger and want to include on a “year’s best of” list I’ll be able to say something more than “I really, really liked it. Really.”
  8. Markus Zusak – The Book Thief: Oh man. This one made me cry too.
  9. Peter Hessler – Country Driving: I first started reading Hessler’s stuff because he wrote a memoir about his time in Peace Corps China. He’s one of the best travel writers I’ve ever read; in this book he drives around China and in doing so introduces us to budding factory towns and dying villages. Read it, please.
  10. Paul Auster – The New York Trilogy: This trilogy did not make me cry (making it a standout of sorts on this list), but was kind of crazy and thought-provoking, in the realm of detectives doing detective work on other detectives, and a lot of fun to read. Review here.

Despite the numbered list, these books aren’t in real order of preference. This is in response to the Top Ten Tuesday question at the Broke and the Bookish. And now we can wash ourselves of top 10 end-of-the-year lists (maybe) and move on to a bright future in 2011

10 Comments

White Tiger…Places in Between…Country Driving…all of these are books I’ve read and loved. Now I need to try Edith Wharton!

Here is my Top Ten of 2010 post: http://readerbuzz.blogspot.com/2010/12/top-ten-books-ive-read-in-2010.html

Comment by Debnance at Readerbuzz

If you’re going to read more Edith Wharton, you definitely have to read House of Mirth. It is probably my all-time favorite book ever. Seriously :D

Comment by Sarah

I LOVE Edith Wharton. She was truly a person of controversial novels in her time.

Comment by Kat

Great list! I keep meaning to read White Tiger and The Book Thief.

Comment by CurlyGeek04

I love Corelli’s Mandolin, too. Though I felt it was a difficult book to read because of all the Greek words that unfamiliar to my tongue!

Comment by Anne

it’s times like those that i create my own, grossly inaccurate, pronunications.

Comment by Ellen Rhudy

I really need to read The Book Thief! I read The Hunger Games recently and am still undecided about it…it was good but I can’t bring myself to read the rest of the series.

Comment by Erica Woolridge

I’ve only read Age of Innocence, The Hunger Games, and The Book Thief, but I totally agree with all of those! (Especially The Book Thief…that might be my all-time favorite.) Several others are on my own TBR list, so I’m glad to hear you liked them!

Comment by Erin

I loved Edith Wharton’s Ethan Frome and especially The House of Mirth. I need to read more from her as well – I’m particularly interested in reading The Ghost Stories of Edith Wharton. I never knew she wrote stories like that, but I can imagine that it might be wonderfully haunting.

The Book Thief is another one I need to read as well.

Comment by Coffee and a Book Chick

I love your list, because it’s so eclectic. :) The Book Thief and The Hunger Games are definitely in my top ten list, as well. The Book Thief made me bawl like a baby, and The Hunger Games… Team Peeta all the way. LOL.

Comment by Darlyn




Comments are closed.