Fat Books & Thin Women


30 Day Book Meme, Day 10
August 11, 2011, 5:32 pm
Filed under: 30 Day Book Meme | Tags: , , , , , ,

Favorite Classic Book:

Today’s prompt…so hard to answer. I used to not be a lover of the “classics,” however you’re defining them, but in recent years I’ve come around. Sometimes it’s exhausting reading contemporary fiction, the stuff that’s been published in the last year or five years, the stuff that got some buzz when it came out, that people praise when you ask what they’re reading, but that ultimately feels lackluster. With the classics, all the hard work of weeding the books has been done for me, and I feel secure in my (totally awesome) idea that when I’m reading a classic, there’s a better chance I’ll end up loving it than if I’m reading, I dunno, the latest Booker winner.

Let’s take the plunge, though, shall we? E.M. Forster’s A Room with a View. I grew up watching this movie once or twice a year with my parents, and slowly fell in love with them, first George, then Lucy, Mr. Beebe, and finally, more recently, Cecil – or that one moment with Cecil, when Lucy tells him she’s not going to marry him (quoting George the whole time). The book has turned into a near-yearly read as well. I can’t get too deep with this book or even consider going all literary on it, because what I love about Forster’s novel is the relationship between George and Lucy, between George and his father. Every time I read it or watch the movie, it’s excruciating to watch Lucy come so close to letting go of this chance she has for real love rather than a fitting connection with the sort of man who won’t play lawn tennis but instead walks around all day with his nose in a book. (That sounds like me, actually. Maybe I should work on how I present myself to potential suitors.) George and his father, Mr. Emerson, are the two characters in A Room with a View who act without regard for the social structures of the day, and I always feel a nearly desperate longing for Lucy to quit diddling about and just do what she wants, which would probably look a lot like what happens when George does what he wants:

George had turned at the sound of her arrival. For a moment he contemplated her, as one who had fallen out of heaven. He saw radiant joy in her face, he saw the flowers beat against her dress in blue waves. The bushes above them closed. He stepped quickly forward and kissed her.

30 Day Book Meme:
Day 01 – The best book you read last year
Day 02 – A book that you’ve read more than three times
Day 03 – Your favorite series
Day 04 – Favorite book of your favorite series
Day 05 – A book that makes you happy
Day 06 – A book that makes you sad
Day 07 – Most underrated book
Day 08 – Most overrated book
Day 09 – A book you thought you wouldn’t like but ended up loving
Day 10 – Favorite classic book
Day 11 – A book you hated
Day 12 – A book you used to love but don’t anymore
Day 13 – Your favorite writer
Day 14 – Favorite book of your favorite writer
Day 15 – Favorite male character
Day 16 – Favorite female character
Day 17 – Favorite quote from your favorite book
Day 18 – A book that disappointed you
Day 19 – Favorite book turned into a movie
Day 20 – Favorite romance book
Day 21 – Favorite book from your childhood
Day 22 – Favorite book you own
Day 23 – A book you wanted to read for a long time but still haven’t
Day 24 – A book that you wish more people would’ve read
Day 25 – A character who you can relate to the most
Day 26 – A book that changed your opinion about something
Day 27 – The most surprising plot twist or ending
Day 28 – Favorite title
Day 29 – A book everyone hated but you liked
Day 30 – Your favorite book of all time

 Subscribe to the Fat Books & Thin Women feed

5 Comments

This is a lovely meme, Ellen! Glad to know that ‘A Room with a View’ is your favourite classic’. Wonderful to read your thoughts on Forster’s book. I haven’t read any of his books, but have seen bits and pieces of the movie version of ‘Howard’s End’. After reading your thoughts on ‘A Room with a view’ I am inspired to read the book and watch the movie. I searched in Wikipedia and discovered that Helena Bonham Carter and Judi Dench – two of my favourite actresses – are there in this movie! Wow!

Comment by Vishy

I absolutely LOVE the book (and love exactly the same thing about it that you do!) – but I’ve never seen the movie. Now I know what’s going into our Netflix queue next. Thanks for the idea!

Comment by readersquest

Awesome! I love adaptations of Forster’s work – unlike so many others, they are always as good as or nearly as good as the books themselves.

Comment by Ellen Rhudy

[…] Posts 30 Day Book Meme, Day 130 Day Book Meme, Day 10Story Sunday: Neil Gaiman's "Snow, Glass, Apples"30 Day Book Meme, Day 8Review: Emma Donoghue's […]

Pingback by 30 Day Book Meme, Day 11 « Fat Books & Thin Women

[…] 30 Day Book Meme, Day 10 […]

Pingback by 30 Day Book Meme, Day 12 « Fat Books & Thin Women




Comments are closed.