Fat Books & Thin Women


30 Day Book Meme, Day 20

Favorite romance book:

I don’t consider myself a real “girly” reader, so when I saw today’s prompt I worried I wouldn’t come up with anything. I don’t think I’ve ever read a novel that would be shelved in the romance aisle, and however open I may be to reading other genres (thriller: awesome! sci-fi: awesome! fantasy: awesome! mysteries: awesome!)…I am not real interested in reading the guidance counselor’s novel from Ten Things I Hate About You.

Close-minded? Sure. I will totally fess up to that. But I guess “romance” isn’t limited to books that will be shelved under “romance” in the local library. E.M. Forster’s A Room with a View is a romantic story on top of a penetrating look at Edwardian society and the changes that were occurring in ways of thinking, particularly in how women (Lucy) viewed their lives. But I wrote about this novel earlier, and it’s time I push myself to not answer every question by talking about Harry Potter or Nabokov or Forster.

My favorite romance, other than A Room with a View? The Time Traveler’s Wife. Though Niffenegger’s book is part of the unfortunate “The [Male Character]’s [Something]” titling trend, and the movie was mediocre, the book is gorgeous for infusing a classic love story with elements of science fiction. It’s heart-rending to watch Clare and Henry repeatedly pulled apart by time and to know that Henry’s death may come at a time Clare can’t even be part of; but Niffenegger realizes that the best love stories are the ones that don’t quite end happily, but in which there is still some hope. Even after Henry dies we know that his younger self remains somewhere in the aging Clare’s future, if only briefly.

30 Day Book Meme:
Day 01 – The best book you read last year
Day 02 – A book that you’ve read more than three times
Day 03 – Your favorite series
Day 04 – Favorite book of your favorite series
Day 05 – A book that makes you happy
Day 06 – A book that makes you sad
Day 07 – Most underrated book
Day 08 – Most overrated book
Day 09 – A book you thought you wouldn’t like but ended up loving
Day 10 – Favorite classic book
Day 11 – A book you hated
Day 12 – A book you used to love but don’t anymore
Day 13 – Your favorite writer
Day 14 – Favorite book of your favorite writer
Day 15 – Favorite male character
Day 16 – Favorite female character
Day 17 – Favorite quote from your favorite book
Day 18 – A book that disappointed you
Day 19 – Favorite book turned into a movie
Day 20 – Favorite romance book
Day 21 – Favorite book from your childhood
Day 22 – Favorite book you own
Day 23 – A book you wanted to read for a long time but still haven’t
Day 24 – A book that you wish more people would’ve read
Day 25 – A character who you can relate to the most
Day 26 – A book that changed your opinion about something
Day 27 – The most surprising plot twist or ending
Day 28 – Favorite title
Day 29 – A book everyone hated but you liked
Day 30 – Your favorite book of all time

 Subscribe to the Fat Books & Thin Women feed

5 Comments

I agree with everything above. LOVE this book. :-)

(I’m becoming curious about A Room With a View.)

Comment by Jillian ♣

Oww I loved the book. However, I should re-read it: I was in the middle of it when my grandma died and it took me a week to come back to reading. But, apart from the horrible personal circumstances, I did adore the love story here… and I wanted to give Claire a hug! That said, she is also one of the most adorable characters I’ve encountered.

Comment by Elena

Pretty sure this is the one “romance” novel that even dudes can enjoy – Henry’s one of my all-time favorite characters. And the Chicago scenes are a huge bonus!

Now, if we could just forget that terrible movie version ever happened! ;)

Comment by Greg Zimmerman

I don’t know what this says about me, but I usually won’t read a romance(ish) book unless I know a lot of guys read it. That’s how I came to Water for Elephants and Time Traveler…the result of some natural aversion I have to being a girl-girl?

Comment by Ellen Rhudy

[…] Posts 30 Day Book Meme, Day 20Story Sunday: Neil Gaiman's "Snow, Glass, Apples"30 Day Book Meme, Day 1Review: Michael Crummey's […]

Pingback by 30 Day Book Meme, Day 21 « Fat Books & Thin Women




Comments are closed.