Fat Books & Thin Women


30 Day Book Meme, Day 23
August 24, 2011, 5:23 pm
Filed under: 30 Day Book Meme | Tags: , , , , , , ,

A book you’ve wanted to read for a long time but still haven’t:

If you’re wondering what happened to Day 22 of the meme (favorite book you own), I skipped it. Because, duh, my favorite book I own is the same as my favorite book, period. Wouldn’t it be better to ask about the favorite book you don’t own? (Just because I’ve thought of that question, though, don’t expect me to answer it.)

If I were to write down all the books I have intended to read for years but have yet failed to touch, this post would never end. It is a lot easier to buy books than it is to read them, and I suspect that some in my possession (say, the complete works of Dostoevsky) may never get read.

Gotta choose one, though, so it’s Marcel Proust’s Swann’s Way, by which I pretty much mean the entirety of In Remembrance of Things Past. Bought the first three volumes a few years ago when I first tried to write a personal statement for grad school, focusing on “time and memory” in literature and thought, “Shit, I’d better read about those madeleines.”

Unfotunately, like Lorelai Gilmore (who was loaned Swann’s Way by early boyfriend Max Medina [the man who makes me think teaching high school English might be the career for me]) I’ve proven incapable of finishing even the first sentence of Swann’s Way. I’m about two years into my three-year reprieve (see: why I didn’t pack any Proust when I left for the Peace Corps), and things are going to have to get serious when I’m back in the States. I am going to finish that first sentence.

30 Day Book Meme:
Day 01 – The best book you read last year
Day 02 – A book that you’ve read more than three times
Day 03 – Your favorite series
Day 04 – Favorite book of your favorite series
Day 05 – A book that makes you happy
Day 06 – A book that makes you sad
Day 07 – Most underrated book
Day 08 – Most overrated book
Day 09 – A book you thought you wouldn’t like but ended up loving
Day 10 – Favorite classic book
Day 11 – A book you hated
Day 12 – A book you used to love but don’t anymore
Day 13 – Your favorite writer
Day 14 – Favorite book of your favorite writer
Day 15 – Favorite male character
Day 16 – Favorite female character
Day 17 – Favorite quote from your favorite book
Day 18 – A book that disappointed you
Day 19 – Favorite book turned into a movie
Day 20 – Favorite romance book
Day 21 – Favorite book from your childhood
Day 22 – Favorite book you own
Day 23 – A book you wanted to read for a long time but still haven’t
Day 24 – A book that you wish more people would’ve read
Day 25 – A character who you can relate to the most
Day 26 – A book that changed your opinion about something
Day 27 – The most surprising plot twist or ending
Day 28 – Favorite title
Day 29 – A book everyone hated but you liked
Day 30 – Your favorite book of all time

 Subscribe to the Fat Books & Thin Women feed

4 Comments

Mmm Max Medina, hands down my favorite male character from Gilmore Girls. I’d have held onto him.

Comment by Brenna

I’ve always supported Luke in his numerous bids for Lorelai’s affections, but I have to admit that every time Max Medina showed up I would start wishing Lorelai would give him half a chance. A man who reads! Who can’t build stuff, but can make a terrible cup of coffee!

Comment by Ellen Rhudy

I’ve always found myself very easily and very pathetically swayed by whichever male suitor the writers seem to want me to prefer at the time. It’s always a Luke-Christopher-Max merry-go-round for me, which you’d think would make it less enjoyable but it doesn’t. And I think you need to be in the right mood for Swann’s Way. I liked what I read of it for my French class, though if I return to it, it will probably be in English.

Comment by Jennifer Maurer

haha, i’m the same way. when she got up to marrying christopher i wasn’t such a fan, but i even had sympathy for JASON (until he went nuts, sued her father). I’m impressed that you read part of Swann’s Way in French…reading it in translation seems difficult enough.

Comment by Ellen Rhudy




Comments are closed.