Fat Books & Thin Women


30 Day Book Meme, Day 24

A book that you wish more people have read:

When the Coen brothers’ True Grit adaptation came out late last year, Charles Portis’s novel jumped to the top of bestseller lists. It got a special movie tie-in cover. I saw a few reviews of it on blogs not written by me. Awesome!

I just wish everyone who took the time to read True Grit would look into Portis’s other works. The man is a god as far as I’m concerned; funny without ever cracking a joke, writing characters who are absurd and sympathetic at the same time, revealing the whole of a personality in one or two lines of dialogue.

I’ve done a poor job this month of limiting myself to the one book title most of the prompts ask for (even if I do choose just one, I can’t stop myself from detailing the runners up), and don’t expect me to change now. If I could force just one book on someone…well, it would be something by Charles Portis, either Gringos or The Dog of the South or Norwood or True Grit. Portis is, I am convinced, one of the best writers America’s produced, and while The Believer or The New York Times will occasionally honor him with an article, I rarely find someone who has heard of him, let alone read him. Let me beg you all, as I have a few times before: read Charles Portis! read True Grit if you want, but then read one of his other novels! you will not regret it! (I promise.)

30 Day Book Meme:
Day 01 – The best book you read last year
Day 02 – A book that you’ve read more than three times
Day 03 – Your favorite series
Day 04 – Favorite book of your favorite series
Day 05 – A book that makes you happy
Day 06 – A book that makes you sad
Day 07 – Most underrated book
Day 08 – Most overrated book
Day 09 – A book you thought you wouldn’t like but ended up loving
Day 10 – Favorite classic book
Day 11 – A book you hated
Day 12 – A book you used to love but don’t anymore
Day 13 – Your favorite writer
Day 14 – Favorite book of your favorite writer
Day 15 – Favorite male character
Day 16 – Favorite female character
Day 17 – Favorite quote from your favorite book
Day 18 – A book that disappointed you
Day 19 – Favorite book turned into a movie
Day 20 – Favorite romance book
Day 21 – Favorite book from your childhood
Day 22 – Favorite book you own
Day 23 – A book you wanted to read for a long time but still haven’t
Day 24 – A book that you wish more people have read
Day 25 – A character who you can relate to the most
Day 26 – A book that changed your opinion about something
Day 27 – The most surprising plot twist or ending
Day 28 – Favorite title
Day 29 – A book everyone hated but you liked
Day 30 – Your favorite book of all time

 Subscribe to the Fat Books & Thin Women feed

4 Comments

Sounds like I really need to pick up some Charles Portis. Thanks for bringing him to my attention, Ellen.

Comment by Brenna

Judging by the past year of this blog, I think it’s safe to say I’ll continue bringing him to your attention about once every six months. I don’t know if that’s sad or not – should I try thinking of another author I can try selling on here?

Comment by Ellen Rhudy

[…] 30 Day Book Meme, Day 24 (fatbooks.org) […]

Pingback by Book Pick For The WEEK ( 8/30/11 )! « Phillybookpick's Blog

[…] Posts 30 Day Book Meme, Day 130 Day Book Meme, Day 2330 Day Book Meme, Day 2430 Day Book Meme, Day 830 Day Book Meme, Day […]

Pingback by 30 Day Book Meme, Day 25 « Fat Books & Thin Women




Comments are closed.