Fat Books & Thin Women


Happy Birthday, Blog! + Giveaway!
September 5, 2011, 8:23 am
Filed under: Blog Stuff | Tags:

It’s been a year (well, a year and a day) since I started this blog. Although I didn’t realize book blogs existed when I started mine (a trail blazer, as always…at least in my own mind), I’ve become a total convert to book blogs and have also arrested the disintegration of my English by writing one. (This is something I keep saying and I realized, when I was home on vacation, that no one believes you can forget your native language. Trust me, you can. I am not just being a goofus, though I often am.)

What I wish I were eating today.

Many thanks to everyone who’s visited over the last year. And especially to the writers of some of my favorite blogs, who through their own posts have helped me figure out what I want to be doing with my blog: The Reading Ape, The New Dork Review of Books, Soy Chai Bookshelf, Literary Musings, Pens with Cojones, Zeteticat’s Bookish Habits, Reader’s Quest and What Red Read, among others.

Tradition dictates that it’s now time for me to announce what I am giving to you. Because, yes, greedy and cheap though I may be: it’s time for a giveaway!

The deal? You can win a copy of any book I’ve read since starting this blog (list after the jump). All you have to do is choose your book, fill out the google form telling me who you are and why you want to win, and wait. This giveaway is good internationally. I’ll be using Better World Books, because I love their Book for Book program and I never get to take advantage of it by ordering books for myself. This contest is open for just over a week, through Monday, September 12th at 11pm my time (that’s 5pm EST).

Giveaway Closed

 Subscribe to the Fat Books & Thin Women feed

16 Comments

Happy Birthday!! I hope your birthday giveaway goes better than mine did! And thanks for the link and the sentiment – I really REALLY appreciate it. Here’s to your command of your native tongue!

Comment by Jennifer Maurer

Thank you thank you, thank you!!! Hope to win Case Histories by Kate Atkison!

Comment by Elena

Happy Blogoversary! I found your blog a few months ago, and really enjoy reading it. I’d love to win a copy of Wild Sheep Chase.

Comment by Heather

Fabulous project, and a fabulous blog. Here’s to another great year!

Comment by jenn aka the picky girl

Your blog is always a treat to visit. Happy 1 Year as well!

Comment by Natalie ~ Coffee and a Book Chick

Congrats. You have a lovely blog which makes a great contribution to the blogosphere. Keep it up,

Comment by whisperinggums

Mmm, I want that cake…

Congrats on blogging for a year…here’s to many more! And thank you for the giveaway!

Comment by Erin

Happy book-blog-birthday!

Comment by Hannah

Happy blog birthday! Here’s to many more blogging years. Thanks for the mention!

Comment by Alley

What a list of books, amazing. Well done, Ellen. Been a pleasure reading your posts all this time. Look forward to more.

Congratulations!

Comment by Mayowa

Congrats. I always enjoy reading your blog.

Comment by ldarrow

Thanks for the link! I’m so happy to have found your blog and follow you through the last year. I’ll be back to enter your giveaway!

Comment by Brenna

aw congrats on the anniversary, So glad you started blogging :)

Comment by rebeccareid

Congratulations on your Blogiversary! Looking forward to continue reading interesting book posts in your blog, in the future.

Comment by Vishy

You are a reading fiend! Happy Blogiversary and thanks for the shout out – I get recs from your crazy thick reading list as well! Hope you’re enjoying your third year in the Balkans…

Comment by zeteticat

Wow, talk about a list of awesome books! That’s some great taste you’ve got there. Happy blogiversary, and congrats on writing such a successful blog. I do enjoy reading it, and I appreciate the quality, even though I don’t always comment.

Comment by Steph VanderMeulen (@BellasBookshelf)




Comments are closed.