Fat Books & Thin Women


Return(ish) to books, reviews, the internets
November 21, 2011, 10:53 pm
Filed under: Blog Stuff

Hey, internet! As you know if you’ve been bored enough to visit my other blog, I finished my Peace Corps service in Macedonia three and a half weeks ago and the next day moved to Tirana, Albania to be a Fulbright grantee. Having heard, pretty much every day, that to be part of the professional world in America nowadays you need to own an iPhone/be constantly accessible (trust me, things have changed a lot in the past two and a half years – it was not like this when I left), I wanted to take advantage of this opportunity to be inaccessible and decided not to get internet. Only, turns out you also need to be able to check your email more than three times a week when you’re living in Albania, if you have any hopes of ever getting anything done; so I finally broke down and signed up for the cheapest internet plan I could find.

Best thing about Tirana, maybe? The number of books, everywhere. Not just bookstores, which I haven’t really checked out, but the guys selling used books along the streets. Taken as a whole, Albania may not be as developed as Macedonia; but I think parts of Tirana are farther along than Macedonia’s capital, allowing me to treat this as a transition back to America. Seeing so many books is a nice start, even if it means constantly resisting buying Albanian translations of The Hunger Games.

New reviews and Story Sundays will be up this week.

3 Comments

Welcome back! I don’t know what I would do without all my electronic gadgets and yes, it does scare me when I really think about it. How exciting that you will be in this new section of the world, and we can all live vicariously through you! Post some pictures of the bookshops and street vendor booksellers, what a treat!

Comment by Natalie ~ the Coffee and a Book Chick

Nice to see you back Ellen … and ditto what Natalie said!

Comment by whisperinggums

Welcome back! I hope you have fun getting settled and getting started in your new responsibilities. and browsing those books, of course.

Comment by rebeccareid




Comments are closed.