Fat Books & Thin Women


Review: Aimee Bender’s The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake

The premise of Aimee Bender’s The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake is so clever and surreal that it’s hard not to be taken in. A girl, tasting the lemon cake her mother has baked for her ninth birthday, tastes not just the cake but her mother’s emotions. She can barely choke the cake down. After this, she can taste emotions in everything she eats. She stands around the school cafeteria hoping that she’ll be able to pick up food from the lunch lady who adds to her food a solid sort of sadness, becomes a connoisseur of the vending machine, and one day ends up in the emergency room because she is trying to remove her mouth from her face.

Although the premise is presented to the reader with no real explanation, Rose realizes early on that she can’t tell anyone what she’s tasting in food. There is, really, an entire world in each bite that Rose takes, and from the first bite of that lemon cake, the blessing and misfortune of Rose’s gift are clear.

[…] as I finished that first bite, as that first impression faded, I felt a subtle shift inside, an unexpected reaction. As if a sensor, so far buried deep inside me, raised its scope to scan around, alerting my mouth to something new. Because the goodness of the ingredients – the fine chocolate, the freshest lemons – seemed like a cover over something larger and darker, and the taste of what was underneath was beginning to push up from the bite. I could absolutely taste the chocolate, but in drifts and traces, in an unfurling, or an opening, it seemed that my mouth was also filling with the taste of smallness, the sensation of shrinking, of upset, tasting a distance I somehow knew was connected to my mother, tasting a crowded sense of her thinking, a spiral, like I could almost even taste the grit in her jaw that had created the headache that meant she had to take as many aspirins as were necessary, a white dotted line of them in a row on the nightstand like an ellipsis to her comment: I’m just going to lie down…. None of it was a bad taste, so much, but there was a kind of lack of wholeness to the flavors that made it taste hollow, like the lemon and chocolate were just surrounding a hollowness. My mother’s able hands had made the cake, and her mind had known how to balance the ingredients, but she was not there, in it.

What is so horrifying for Rose in that bite of cake is the way her mother seems to be not entirely there – that Rose can taste not just that her mother is sad, but that she isn’t fully present in her life. At eight years old, though, Rose can barely understand what is happening when she eats food, let alone find a way to understanding her mother’s emotions. Although she knows even the most minor details and disruptions of the lives of those around her, Rose keeps her gift – or curse, depending on your view – a secret, only telling her brother and his friend George. Bender’s writing here, with George conducting “experiments” on Rose to test what emotions she can taste, and how accurately she can describe the people making her food, is entertaining but short-lived. George is a figure throughout the novel, though often in the background, but his interest in Rose’s abilities die off, along with the experiments and any hope Rose had of coming to understand herself.

The weakness to The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake is this habit of Bender’s, of dropping details and stories into the novel but not following through. The text feels unbalanced particularly near its close, when Rose is drawn into her brother’s life and his own hidden talents. Hints about the lives of Rose’s family members are tossed to the reader in rapid succession, suggesting that Rose is not so alone as she’s long felt; but Bender never fully explores the lives of Rose’s family members and what their stories mean in relation to hers. The end of the novel is so sudden that it’s hard not to flip through the final pages, searching for something more than is given us; but there’s only a fading away of Rose’s story, not a conclusion to it.

When Bender’s writing is good, though, it’s very good, almost addictive. By the time the novel ends, Rose’s story has shifted into a traditional coming-of-age story, with her ability to taste emotions seeming not so different from someone else’s talent for writing, or painting, or business. Earlier in the novel, though, Bender does an extraordinary job of parsing Rose’s emotions and her unwillingness to see what is forced before her. Others, like George or a friend she has in high school, might view her talents with admiration, but for Rose they’re more of a curse.

I hated it; the whole thing was like reading her diary against my will. Many kids, it seemed, would find out that their parents were flawed, messed-up people later in life, and I didn’t appreciate getting to know it all so strong and early.

Watching Rose grow, and the way she matures – sometimes earlier than she should, thanks to everything she has had to learn, so unwillingly – is fun reading. Bender’s novel may not remake the coming-of-age story, but it does fit itself into its strictures in new and sometimes exciting ways.

·

 Subscribe to the Fat Books & Thin Women feed

14 Comments

I agree that the ending of this novel was a little weak compared to the beginning. I did love parts of Particular Sadness, but especially when the story switched to her brothers abilities, I lost some of my interest.

Comment by Iris

Same here. Especially with the ending, it seemed we were supposed to take something out of her brother’s story – that it was supposed to, in some way, help us better understand Rose’s. It didn’t feel fully explored to me, though, and I was frustrated by how Bender brought that in in the novel’s last half (or third?).

Comment by Ellen Rhudy

I just read this novel yesterday, and as you said, it was addictive, but I didn’t exactly love it.

I felt that there was a lot I just didn’t get and wished I would have. Writing my review shortly, actually, but loved yours.

Comment by jenn aka the picky girl

Great, I can’t wait to see your review! This was one of those weird books that I couldn’t put down – I think I read it in about a day – but also didn’t love. I thought it was good, but not exactly earth-shattering, and not enough to sell me on seeking out more of Bender’s work.

That sounds so negative that I feel like I have to mention that I am still really, really glad I read it. It seems sort of like literary beach fiction.

Comment by Ellen Rhudy

Have wondered about this one- excellent review, love your consideration of all the different aspects of the writing & story. Sounds intriguing and well worth reading despite a few weaknesses.

Comment by Jennifer

[…] Review: Aimee Bender’s The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake (fatbooks.org) […]

Pingback by Incredible Girl « Women Who Produce

As much as I loved the book, I agree that the end wasn’t as good as it could have been. I have my fingers crossed that she’s leaving herself room to tell Rose’s brother’s story later.

Comment by Gillian

I’ve been seeing this book around for a while and had no idea what it was about until I saw your review. I think I’m going to have to try it. Would you recommend it? Based on your review, the premise seems awesome but I hate when authors leave things unexplored as it seems this one does.

Comment by Bridget

Oh yeah, I’d definitely recommend it. Even with the problems at the end, and with the things Bender didn’t explore as fully as I’d have liked, I thought it was a fun read. When I think of it now, it’s as the perfect book to read at the park, or in between heavier stuff.

Comment by Ellen Rhudy

I’ve been wanting to read this for ages, probably because there’s cake on the cover, but haven’t been able to decide whether I should take the plunge, fearing that it might be fluff. I think that I will now… I think.

Comment by Jennifer Maurer

Trying this commenting thing again, logged in under WordPress, but changing my info so hopefully it’ll be correct…

What I wanted to say, what I originally tried to say the other day, was that this story left me really unsatisfied. I liked the way it started, though I do wish it had gone deeper into what she had to deal with, but once it veered off into her brother’s story, my suspension of disbelief broke entirely.

Comment by Amanda

Glad that you managed to outsmart the wordpress commenting system!

Couldn’t agree with you more about the book. I loved the idea of Rose tasting emotions, but then Bender threw too much in near the end – with her grandfather, father, brother. The issues that she attempted to explore (but didn’t, not fully) by bringing in the skills of those family members could have been just as easily looked through…what to call them, more “normal” stories. I thought the strength in Rose’s story was that Bender used this strange ability of hers to tell a traditional coming-of-age story, but all these other things (especially her brother’s story) overwhelmed me as a reader.

Comment by Ellen Rhudy

[…] reviews:Fat Books Thin WomenBook ChatterKatie’s Book BlogPop Culture Nerd This entry was posted on Thursday, March […]

Pingback by Books That Make You Go Hmm: The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake by Aimee Bender | Picky Girl: I read. I teach. I blog. (pickily)

[…] Review: Aimee Bender’s The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake (fatbooks.org) […]

Pingback by Literally Jen – Book Review: The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake by Aimee Bender - Literally Jen




Comments are closed.