Fat Books & Thin Women


So many exciting things!
July 18, 2012, 5:19 pm
Filed under: Blog Stuff | Tags: , ,

Hello, internet! Time to make my excuses, yet again, for my long absence from book reviewing. It’s a good one this time: I was in Turkey! (This trip was, I admit, surrounded by a few weeks of pure laziness, blog-wise.) That beautiful country I have been dreaming of visiting ever since I was in kindergarten, wearing my snazzy grandmother-provided Turkey-bought necklace and bracelet set. This was such a fun trip, and I should eventually get around to writing it up on my other blog, but there’s so much to cover that I would not be surprised if that post takes until December to write. (No surprise to long-time readers of this blog – I know there are a few of you, counting my parents – who have been watching my plummeting post counts.) Two days on a boat, swimming laps around the boat, getting off the boat to buy ice cream, swimming some more, followed by two days of sea legs… “conquering” my fear of heights with a balloon ride over Cappadocia and, get this(!), an emergency landing that I SURVIVED, a number of expensive sites in Istanbul, lots of old tombs, hitting my head about three times a day, and lots of good food.

Balloon ride!

Bookishly speaking, I finished A Dance with Dragons while on the trip, and no real thoughts on it except…GRRM, how many more of my favorite characters can you kill? I don’t want to say anything more about this because I know everyone who hasn’t finished the five completed books in the series is either currently reading them or planning to read them. At this point, I’m so used to my favorites dying that they only warrant a brief jaw drop…nothing like the Red Wedding scene which, OH MY GOD.

It’s less than two weeks now until I return to the States, so I’m too excited to do much reading – but lots and lots of movies. Maybe I can learn to be a film critic? Expect things to step up a bit once I’m in the America, because my father was kind enough to go the library and reserve a list of books I’d sent him. So, prepare for: Etgar Keret! Nathan Englander! Chad Harbach! Jo Nesbo! Tom Piccirilli! My brain feels like it’s about to explode right now, so off for a coffee and a question: What have you all been up to? Are you as excited (or, sometimes, terrified) for this summer* as I am?

* In my mind, summer starts when I am sitting on the Jersey Shore…so August.

8 Comments

Hey, welcome back!

Comment by Benoît Lelièvre (@BenoitLelievre)

YOU WENT ON A BALLOON RIDE?! That’s so cool! I’m so jealous! That trip sounds AMAZING – Turkey is one of those places that I never think of wanting to go until somebody mentions going there and I become jealous. Just like most of the places you visit!

I’m starting the second book in the series soon, and I’m getting excited for it. Terrified for Arya though because I love her so much!

Welcome back (almost!) to the States!

Comment by Jennifer Maurer

I’m glad that you’ve been lured back to the game of thrones world – I remember from your review of the first novel that you didn’t love it. (I gather that your husband is very persuasive – it was him that got you to try the first, right?) I share your feelings about Arya…starting the second book, I was terrified to learn what had happened to her.

Comment by Ellen Rhudy

Gosh your summer founds amazing, Ellen! I would love to go to Turkey.

Comment by Brenna (@LitMusings)

Turkey was great – do it! That said, I think it’s going to be a shocker for me to get back to the States and have to start accounting for airfare when I travel. It’s a lot easier to pay for a trip to Turkey when your airfare is $250 rather than $1200.

Comment by Ellen Rhudy

Dang, I am glad you are okay after your emergency landing! I’ve always wanted to go to Turkey. I am so jealous!

Comment by Erika

In a Michael Palin travel documentary, it showed balloons over Cappadocia and I thought that looked awesome. Glad you were okay after the emergency landing!

Comment by Christy

I still think that balloon photo is one of the best photos I’ve seen. It’s so otherworldly it looks like an illustration, as I said before. It’s a perfect shot.

Also, I’m very excited for you returning home. You’ll find yourself adjusting of course, and it may not be as you expected when you get back (I lived a year in France and was so disappointed when I got home that I moved out again almost right away), but there will also be the absolute pleasures of getting to experience lovely things you remember: a certain food, the books, your friends. Enjoy!!

Comment by Steph VanderMeulen (@BellasBookshelf)




Comments are closed.